AquaBalance | Facade protection without biocides

… because everything which dries quicker, remains beautiful longer.

Putzfassade

Our new standard

Ten years ago, we developed AquaBalance renders (top coats) with the natural active principle against algae and fungi growth.

Since then, more than 15 million square metres of facades have been rendered with AquaBalance solutions, saving over 63 tons of environmentally harmful biocides.

From 2019, we offer our complete range of facade renders with the environment-friendly technology and make AquaBalance our standard.

A mineral render is a building material with a rich tradition. It not only offers a wide range of design options, but is also an extremely economical solution compared to other façade coatings.

Only one point clouds the positive balance: algae and fungi growth spreads on many render facades after only a short time. The grey-green haze does not pose a danger to the building structure, but it does impair the appearance of the building and is often claimed as a defect.

Secure detailing, for ex. on roof and parapet edges, reduces the risk of infestation, but does not in itself provide secure protection. Saint-Gobain Weber's AquaBalance render technology successfully prevents the growth of microorganisms.

Render is a fascinating facade material that can be rediscovered again and again, both visually and haptically.

Trend-setting render technology

For a long time, the addition of biocides was considered the most effective method of killing algae and fungi.

However, this has two serious disadvantages. Render surfaces with biocidal film preservation demonstrably lose their protective effect after a few years. Furthermore, the chemical additives are highly harmful to the environment.

With AquaBalance, Saint-Gobain Weber offers a render technology that has won several awards and solves the problem physically rather than chemically. A hydrophilic active principle ensures effective and long-lasting protection of the facade against algae and fungi.

Faster dry. Longer beautiful: the advantages of AquaBalance

  • effective and lasting protection against algae and fungi
  • environment-friendly and harmless to health due to a purely physical active principle
  • economical due to longer renovation intervals
  • unlimited design possibilities through colours and structures

Brilliant white instead of algae green. Without chemicals.

Various factors favour algae infestation of facades. These include proximity to vegetation and water, improperly drained splash water areas, shady locations, high precipitation, airborne pollutants, but also modern construction methods with low roof overhangs and efficient thermal insulation. The facade surface plays an important role in prevention. Many manufacturers mix biocides into their renders to destroy algae and fungi spores. In the first few months, these actually kill the microorganisms. But the water-soluble biocides are washed out of the facade by the rain within a short time.

This has a doubly negative effect: the protective function is lost, algae and fungi can sprout again unhindered. And the biocides enter the surrounding soil and our groundwater with the rain. AquaBalance technology does not require biocides that can be washed out and offers natural and lasting protection against algae and fungi.

With AquaBalance technology, Saint-Gobain Weber has developed an environment- and health-friendly alternative to biocide-containing renders through years of research.

AquaBalance overlay renders (top coats) protect naturally against algae infestation and thus protect the ground water and the environment.

AquaBalance technology counters algae and fungi with a highly effective physical principle that is also particularly beneficial in an ecological point of view. The hydrophilic surface protects facades from green growth in a completely natural way.

As a result, AquaBalance renders can completely dispense with biocides that can be washed out. Some of the common biocides that are added to renders to protect against algae are suspected of causing cancer and damaging genetic material.

The quantities involved are enormous: a single bucket of conventional pasty facade render contains up to 80 grams of biocides. This adds up to about 450 tons of the pollutants that are washed out of facades into the surrounding soil and into our groundwater in Germany every year, and from there end up in streams and rivers.

More and more people are not only buying organically grown food, but are generally paying attention to a low-pollutant, healthy environment. Many building owners are open to clean alternatives and grateful for appropriate advice. Authorities and public institutions are also becoming increasingly sensitive to issues of building environmental protection. Some municipalities already tie the awarding of subsidies to the use of biocide-free products. But even beyond government requirements, all those involved in the building process – manufacturers, builders, planners and architects – bear responsibility. Take advantage of this simple opportunity to reduce the ecological footprint of your buildings and actively contribute to environmental and water protection.

Multiple awards

The AquaBalance renders received the award "Bundespreis ecodesign" in 2012. In 2013, for ex. they were awarded the renowned "Innovation Prize Climate and Environment" (IKU) by the Federal Ministry for the Environment. And in 2016, the jury of the Greentec Awards chose the AquaBalance technology as one of the three best solutions in the category "Building and Living".

Reference objects

AquaBalance | Fassadenschutz ohne Biozide

…denn was schneller trocknet, bleibt länger schön.

Putzfassade

Unser neuer Standard

Vor zehn Jahren haben wir die AquaBalance-Putze mit dem natürlichen Wirkprinzip gegen Algen- und Pilzbewuchs entwickelt.

Seitdem wurden mehr als zehn Millionen Quadratmeter Fassaden mit AquaBalance-Lösungen verputzt und dadurch über 43 Tonnen umweltschädlicher Biozide eingespart.

Ab 2019 bieten wir unser komplettes Fassadenputz-Sortiment mit der umweltfreundlichen Technologie an und machen AquaBalance zu unserem Standard.

Edelputz ist ein Baustoff mit einer reichen Tradition. Er bietet nicht nur vielfältige Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten, sondern ist im Vergleich zu anderen Fassadenbeschichtungen auch eine ausgesprochen wirtschaftliche Lösung.

Nur ein Punkt trübt die positive Bilanz: Auf vielen Putzfassaden macht sich bereits nach kurzer Zeit Algen- und Pilzbewuchs breit. Der graugrüne Schleier stellt keine Gefahr für die Bausubstanz dar, beeinträchtigt aber das Erscheinungsbild des Gebäudes und wird häufig als Mangel reklamiert.

Eine sichere Detailausbildung, zum Beispiel bei Dach- und Attikarändern, verringert zwar das Risiko eines Befalls, bietet aber allein noch keinen sicheren Schutz. Die AquaBalance-Putztechnologie von Saint-Gobain Weber verhindert erfolgreich den Bewuchs durch Mikroorganismen.

Putz ist ein faszinierendes, optisch und haptisch immer wieder neu zu entdeckendes Fassadenmaterial.

Zukunftsweisende Putztechnologie

Lange Zeit galt der Zusatz von Bioziden als wirksamste Methode, um Algen und Pilze abzutöten

Dies hat jedoch zwei gravierende Nachteile: Putzoberflächen mit biozider Filmkonservierung verlieren nachweisbar nach wenigen Jahren ihre Schutzwirkung. Darüber hinaus sind die chemischen Zusätze in hohem Maße umweltschädlich.

Mit AquaBalance bietet Saint-Gobain Weber eine mehrfach ausgezeichnete Putztechnologie, die das Problem nicht chemisch, sondern physika- lisch löst. Ein hydrophiles Wirkprinzip sorgt für einen effektiven und dauer haften Schutz der Fassade vor Algen und Pilzen.

Schneller trocken. Länger schön: die Vorteile von AquaBalance

  • Effektiver und dauerhafter Schutz vor Algen und Pilzen
  • Umweltfreundlich und gesundheitlich unbedenklich durch ein rein physikalisches Wirkprinzip
  • Wirtschaftlich durch längere Renovierungsintervalle
  • Unbegrenzte Gestaltungsmöglichkeiten durch unterschiedliche Farben und Strukturen

Strahlend weiß statt algen grün. Ohne Chemie.

Unterschiedliche Faktoren begünstigen den Algenbefall von Fassaden. Dazu gehören die Nähe zu Vegetation und Wasser, unsachgemäß aus geführte Spritzwasserbereiche, Schattenlage, hohe Niederschläge, die Schadstoffbelastung der Luft, aber auch eine moderne Bauweise mit geringem Dachüberstand und effizienter Wärmedämmung. Die Fassadenoberfläche spielt eine wichtige Rolle in der Prävention. Viele Hersteller mischen ihren Putzen Biozide bei, um Algen- und Pilzsporen zu vernichten. In den ersten Monaten töten diese die Mikroorganismen tatsächlich ab. Doch die wasserlöslichen Biozide werden in kurzer Zeit vom Regen aus der Fassade ausgewaschen.

Mit doppelt negativer Wirkung: Die Schutzfunktion geht verloren, Algen und Pilze können wieder ungehindert sprießen. Und die Biozide gelangen mit dem Regen in das umliegende Erdreich und in unser Grundwasser. Die AquaBalance-Technologie kommt ohne auswaschbare Biozide aus und bietet einen natürlichen und dauerhaften Schutz gegen Algen und Pilze.

Saint-Gobain Weber hat mit der AquaBalance-Technologie in jahrelanger Forschungsarbeit bewusst eine umwelt- und gesundheitsschonende Alternative zu biozidhaltigen Putzen entwickelt.

AquaBalance-Oberputze schützen auf natürliche Weise vor Algenbefall und schonen so das Grundwasser und die Umwelt.

Die AquaBalance-Technologie setzt Algen und Pilzen ein hochwirksames physikalisches Prinzip entgegen, das zugleich ökologisch besonders vorteilhaft ist. Die hydrophile Oberfläche schützt Fassaden auf ganz natürliche Weise vor dem grünlichen Bewuchs.

Dadurch können die AquaBalance- Putze auf auswaschbare Biozide komplett verzichten. Einige der gängigen Biozide, die Putzen zum Schutz gegen Algen beigefügt werden, stehen im Verdacht, Krebs zu erregen und das Erbgut zu schädigen.

Dabei handelt es sich um gewaltige Mengen: In einem einzigen Eimer mit herkömmlichem pastösem Fassadenputz befinden sich bis zu 80 Gramm Biozide. Dies summiert sich auf rund 450 Tonnen der Schadstoffe, die in Deutschland pro Jahr aus Fassaden in das umliegende Erdreich und in unser Grundwasser gespült werden und von dort in Bäche und Flüsse gelangen.

Immer mehr Menschen kaufen nicht nur biologisch angebaute Nahrungsmittel, sondern achten generell auf ein schadstoffarmes, gesundes Umfeld. Viele Bauherren sind offen für saubere Alternativen und dankbar für eine entsprechende Beratung. Auch Behörden und öffentliche Institutionen zeigen sich zunehmend sensibilisierter für Themen des baulichen Umweltschutzes. Einige Kommunen knüpfen die Vergabe von Fördermitteln bereits an den Einsatz biozidfreier Produkte. Aber auch jenseits von staatlichen Vorgaben tragen alle am Bauprozess Beteiligten – Hersteller, Bauherren, Planer und Architekten – Verantwortung. Nutzen Sie diese einfache Möglichkeit, den ökologischen Fußabdruck Ihrer Bauten zu verringern und aktiv etwas zum Umwelt- und Gewässerschutz beizutragen.

Mehrfach ausgezeichnet

Die AquaBalance-Putze erhielten 2012 den „Bundespreis ecodesign“. 2013 wurden sie zum Beispiel vom Bundesumwelt ministerium mit dem renommierten „Innovationspreis Klima und Umwelt“ (IKU) ausgezeichnet. Und 2016 wählte die Jury der Greentec Awards die AquaBalance-Technologie unter die drei besten Lösungen in der Kategorie „Bauen und Leben“.